We’ve Gone Caveman – Paleo Kabobs

Standard

Here’s the deal – we’ve gone caveman! After BamaBoy figured out he has a gluten allergy we decided it might just be in our best interests to go Paleo. Our first goal is to be gluten-free, after that Paleo is preferrable.  There are plenty of people out there that follow this whole Paleo thing to a T and never “cheat”.  (I am not one of them!).  Please keep your emails, comments, complaints about “soy sauce is not Paleo” at home, folks.  I don’t care, it’s close enough, substitute it with something you’re happy with if you need to!  There, let’s begin!

This is EASY, pretty simple and yummy!  we’ve made it a few times, but we switched it up a little last night and it turned out great and even less messy than grilling!

Things ya need:

1 lb steak (I used Rib-eye because we already had it, but slightly tenderized Flank might be the best option)

2 chicken breasts

12 medium-large shrimp, veined (I bought the frozen kind that are ready to cook, NOT the precooked!)

1 large zucchini (Which raises the question; if I had more than one would it be Zucchineye?)

2 small yellow squash

3-4 tablespoons minced garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

balsamic vinegar (Everyone has their own threshold here, so I am leaving this to preference on the quantity)

medium to heavy cracked black pepper

seasoning for shrimp (I used Cabela’s Open Season Whiskey Steak Seasoning) Order HERE!..

*You can also add any other grill veggies you want.  We typically also use red bell pepper pieces, but I forgot to get one.

You will need about 9-12 skewers depending on how close together you want everything.  We used the bamboo skewers, but I think I’m going to buy the metal ones.  They can’t splinter (a risk with the wooden ones) and we can just wash and reuse them.

Now for prep-work:

Slice the veggies into pieces.  I cut the zucchini and squash into about 1/2 inch slices.  Toss them into a large bowl.

Cut the steak and chicken into about 1 by 1 1/2 inch chunks.  Throw those in the large bowl too.

Now it’s time to marinate!  Drizzle the olive oil over the veggies and toss to coat.  Then sprinkle the cracked black pepper over them (as much as you like – I like a LOT!), sprinkle the minced garlic and toss again.  The last thing I add is the balsamic and I didn’t measure it, but went by sight.  If I had to guess it was between 1/8 to 1/4 cup.  Then I tossed one last time and made sure it looked ok. If you are going to marinate all day or for several hours, put it in the fridge.

Once the shrimp thawed, I spread them out on a plate, covered both sides with the seasoning and threw them in a container to soak up the flavor in the fridge.  EASY!

Now, once this was done, it was about 45 minutes before I started putting the kabobs together.  *I have heard/read as little as 20 minutes can be enough all the way to 3-4 hours.  Do what feels right.  That’s what is nice about this kind of thing, it’s pretty flexible!

Preheat the oven (or grill if you want to grill them- it’s 100 degrees in Austin, so I’m keeping my ass inside!) to 350.

Kabob Building 101:

Mix up the veggies, steak and chicken on the kabobs.  The shrimp need to be on  SEPARATE skewers from the rest. – Importante!  Be sure to leave at least a tiny space between each piece for better cooking, but feel free to stack and space as you wish.

Have fun with it!  * Teacher Mom Note: I let Jonah help me make patterns on them – HA, always sneaking it in there!

Cook time:

Put all the meat and veggie skewers on a foil lined baking sheet and put in the oven.  After about 10-15 minutes, flip all the skewers.  Again, judge the time carefully, especially the first time.  You want the steak to be “done” but not over cooked – light brown, but not darkened.  Better just check every 5 minutes at first. 🙂

Flip all the skewers and let them cook for about 10 minutes on the other side.

When done, take them out and put on a serving platter to rest — important for steak (See Honey, I pay attention).

Put the shrimp skewers on the cookie sheet and bake for 5 minutes TOTAL – that’s 2 1/2 minutes each side people, set your timers if you’re forgetful like me!  Take the shrimp out as soon as they’ve had their 5 minutes and plate them too.

Guess what?!  You’re DONE!!!

That’s it!  Easy, healthy and TASTY!  Perfect for the summer, a party or anytime you want to prep ahead and have easy cooking later!  The great thing about kabobs is flexibility.  Some people like to add orange and lime juices to the marinade instead of balsamic.  Play around, see what you like!

Let me know what you find!

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with Cabela’s, other than having lived within 2 miles of one a while back.  I just like their seasoning and think it goes well with lots of stuff, including shrimp! I have never been compensated for providing feedback on the company or their products.

Leave a Reply

